My Metabolic Mayhem defined …

This has been both a busy & interesting week. I’ve trained a little more, increasing my volume and I added some sprints in the later part of the week. I went on a course earlier in the week and spent Saturday at Burley Horse Trails which was fun.

Here is what I took in my handbag to Burley. easy convenient & meant I didn’t miss a protein meal.

I changed my routine so I can try out a new high volume system I learnt. I’ve tweaked my nutrition further too & this morning I weighed in at 69.5kg, having lost 4lbs this week in total.

This is quite a milestone for me & although progress is more than a measure of weight itself, 69.5kg was what I weighed in at my lightest last Oct. In addition to this I’m also comfortably back into ALL my jeans! I’m absolutely over the moon about this. Over the last couple of weeks my body has been gathering progressive momentum & I’m really happy with my progress.

I’m into my 7th month now of project “Get Lean”… AGAIN! Or what I will now rename as “Get-Lean-Smartly“…

Here is my progress picture this week. You have no idea how hard it is to pose, tense muscle and take a picture all simultaneously 🙂

Last year, I got lean, the leanest I have ever ever been … BUT made a huge error – when taking your Body Fat very low it needs Smart nutrition & smart training! I miss read this important part vastly and thought I could out wit my body and head down the “fast Fat loss Lane” …. By the way that lane sucks, it’s kinda like joining the queue at the supermarket that “looks” like it is going down quickly, but ends up being the slowest & longest way!! In the end I under ate, over exercised massively, under slept & rested – I was tired & wired permanently. In the end my body ended up in Metabolic Mayhem!

What does that mean then in simple terms? Well like I’ve said before your body is a clever machine – you cannot outwit it when it comes to survival. When you under eat, through a low-calorie diet and/or over train you change your bodies chemistry. You will have low blood sugar levels, and your body will release hormones adrenaline, cortisol & glucagon in an attempt to rectify this & raise blood sugar levels. Plus your body will break down muscle in an attempt to provide the amino’s it needs for regeneration. In the end you end up with less muscle, less tone, a slower metabolism, develop insulin resistance  and become a fat storing machine.

There are Metabolic Mayhem symptoms you can look out for such as cravings for high sugar/fatty foods, insatiable hunger, irritability, low mood, tired but wired feeling, light headedness. I don’t care if you have will power of steal you can’t fight hormones they are incredibly powerful! Its survival. Believe me – at best you’ll end up eating a “little bit of” crap at worst you’ll “binge” in a frenzy!! Then you’ll feel guilty, irritated, fed up, & annoyed at yourself plus a whole host of other negative emotions …

This year I have made it my business to read up on this topic with interest & have also heard stories of people, particularly women having gone through similar experiences. In my own scenario I gained 20lb gradually over 10 weeks, nothing really in comparison to one story I was told by a male natural bodybuilder I know whom gained 20lb in only 1 week – that’s absolutely Crazy!

The savage consequences physically & mentally it had for me were that it almost cost me the very things I hold dear in my life. The whole experience messed with my head, I’d experienced what it felt like to look amazing, wear snug clothes, look in the mirror and like what I saw, then back to square one – I felt very isolated as didn’t know anyone at the time who had been through the same thing.

So you see, even us fitness peeps get it wrong sometimes, but if you learn from these times can be turned into shared positive experience’s in the end 🙂

Many people have entered Metabolic Mayhem without realizing – obese/overweight people are often those that have tried every diet going, this usually includes some form of permanent calorie restricted diet. It is this group of people I reach out to because they get perturbed & more frustrated each time they try & fail to change how they look with the next “best fat loss program”

If you have dieted hard for more than 3 months and or smashed the cardio consistently for weeks and weeks on end, have any of the symptoms I have mentioned above and find that despite your best efforts your body is not changing then there is some form of Metabolic Mayhem going on!

The best piece of advice I can offer is “DO NOT WORRY” – This will only add to the stress of it!! Once in the eye of such a storm, the only option you have is to ride it out, go with the flow, get yourself a plan of action, keep to it consistently until your body rebalance’s and starts to change. Once you start to notice changes you are in a better position to then tweak things to suit you and keep that momentum building.

Something I read daily in the early days of my Metabolic TLC journey

Marti’s Metabolic TLC Program

1). KISS – “Keep It Simple Silly”. Go back to absolute basics. Eat whole foods every 3 hrs, include protein, fibrous veg & healthy fat in every meal. Drink plenty of filtered water & include herbal teas such as green tea – individualised supplements can be added once you have the basics nailed down.

2). Routine – Morning & bedtime routines is key

3). Exercise – Plan in your diary time to do this

4). Sleep & Rest – Make time to be calm, allow your body time to Rest, Repair, Build and Recover. All are so vital to overall wellbeing, fat loss & getting through Metabolic Mayhem.

5). Support – Tell someone where you are at emotionally, what you need from them & how they can best support you. We are all unique your needs must be met here for support to work.

6) GOAL – Set a realistic goal. Once you start to see your body changing, you can add a timeframe to this.

7). Be persistent – If you slip up, fall off the wagon, eat crap, miss a training session or feel you can’t be bothered, you haven’t ruined your life – so don’t waste emotions beating yourself up! Once you acknowledge the situation just take accountability & take the next positive step towards your goal. This could be planning your next day to be even better, heading out for a walk, making your next meal perfect.

8). Be Patient – You haven’t got here overnight! So don’t expect an overnight result. Your body just doesn’t change that quickly give it chance. It’s the daily habits that get results & will get you to that body goal you dream of so keep practicing them.

9). Be Grateful – People are always so quick to complain these days, don’t be a winger. Life is flipping amazing – if its not its your fault, its your life, you write the story, change something! Appreciate all the good things in your life each day and be thankful for them.

10). Don’t Quit – If you quit, or make excuses why you “can’t” you’ll never get there. Remember – this is “Smart fat loss 4 Life”. It is simple, although not easy, this is habit and habits take time to formulate. Each day perform steps 1-10 repeat until reach your goal!!

If you would like further information on Fat Loss 4 Life or my Metabolic TLC program please email me on: martiwycherley@gmail.com

2 responses to “My Metabolic Mayhem defined …

Leave a Reply

